Skip to content

Seven Quick Takes

November 9, 2012

7 Quick Takes Friday - Hosted at ConversionDiary.com

1. I can’t believe I haven’t posted about this yet! But that’s what I get for being a slacker and not blogging in a million years. A couple weeks ago my husband and I learned that we are expecting a little GIRL!!! Now, I did say over and over again leading up to the ultrasound that I would have been very happy regardless of the baby’s gender. And that is true – I love being mama to boys and would not be sad at all to have a houseful of them. But I would be a little sad, truthfully, if I never had a girl. I know those statements sound contradictory, but I don’t think they are. Well apparently I was hoping harder than I’d realized, because when the ultrasound tech announced, “It’s a girl!” I kind of burst into tears. A little. A lot. I may have blubbered. Don’t judge me.

And then a few days later I was in T.J. Maxx and caught a glimpse of hot pink training bras and I had a little bit of a panic attack. How, oh, HOW are we going to raise this little lady to be secure in her deepest self? How will we protect her from all the evil in this world? How will we instill kindness and honesty and gentleness in her? I’m just a little undone, sometimes, when I think of the world girls live in today. And when I think of those middle school years, holy swiss cheese Batman! I know I survived and I am fine, but it was hard, it was so VERY hard. And some girls don’t survive.

(And yes, in case you are wondering, I do have similar moments of panic when I realize the magnitude of trying to raise a gentleman in a world that is anything but gentle, but I think that the idea of protecting a girl’s heart scares me even more because, well, I’m a girl.)

2. On to less heart-palpitation-inducing subjects: I need a new computer, like, REALLY REALLY BAD, and a few weeks ago Apple unveiled their new 13-inch MacBook Pro starting at a bargain price of just $1199. I think I could possibly scrape that much money together. This would revolutionize my freelance business. Actually, it would make it possible for me to actually HAVE a freelance business. I just… oh, how I stuff-lust after this computer.

3. My toddler is now OBSESSED with football. It’s kind of cute. He even recognizes the sportscaster on our local TV station and as soon as Garrett sees this guy, he hollers, “FOOTBALL!” Jon and I joke all the time about how this man no longer has a name or identity – he’s just FOOTBALL. It’s kind of perplexing and cute how stereotypically “boy” Garrett is (he’s also obsessed with race cars, and there are Hot Wheels EVERYWHERE in our house; he also wants to watch Thomas 24/7) and I am already wondering what his sister (!) will be like. I’m not a very “girly girl” – I don’t wear makeup or do my hair, wear dresses or paint my nails, and if my little one IS girly, I wonder if she’ll think I’m no fun at all. (Oh, look! NEW mommy guilt!)

4. And now for the linkish part of my quick takes: From Small Notebook, we have How to Find the Right Fixer-Upper House. This is just a great, practical little post… much like everything on Small Notebook. You should just go ahead and subscribe to that blog. Go on. I’ll wait here while you do.

5. This is actually where I am right now in my decluttering mindset: We Will Never Have a Garage Sale. I used to save stuff as I was purging so I could have a garage sale a couple of months later and make a million dollars. (Okay, sometimes, if I was lucky, I netted about $100. Which is nothing to sneeze at but as the chick in the linked post notes, that’s a lot of work for not very much coin.)

I am seriously in love with the person who created this sign. In. Love.

The problem with saving your crap before you part with it permanently is A) you have a chance to reconsider and may decide you want to keep the crap after all B) you have to store the crap until the date of the sale and C) you’ve got to figure out what to do with it if it DOESN’T sell. I am now at the point where I just freaking want some room in my house. We are adding a fourth person to our family in four months and I am sick and tired of tripping over and cleaning around things we never use and I know my patience will be even THINNER come spring. I would much rather just load my car up with my trash (which could easily be someone else’s treasure) and take it to the local thrift store so I can support a deserving charity, stimulate my local economy, and get a tax write-off. WIN WIN WIN.

6. From Real Simple: Most-Pinned New Uses for Old Things. Some of these seriously blew my mind, like this one:

Use an empty baby wipe container to keep your yarn from tangling up with knitting or crocheting. Say WHAT?

7. I’m going out of town with some girlfriends this weekend. My terrible luck in raffles and contests finally gave out, and I won a free weekend stay at a house in the Outer Banks, so my gal pals and I decided to leave our husbands and kids behind and get some much-needed R&R. (Amazingly, the house that we’re staying at is located at the widest part of the beach so it suffered no ill effects from Hurricane Sandy. SUH-WEET.) I have to admit, I am really nervous about being away from my son for almost two whole days, and I am nervous on my husband’s behalf because he’s never been the full-time caregiver before. Plus I know he misses me when I’m gone. (Which is nice.) But I am pretty sure that this will be a really restful, fun weekend for me and I am going to enjoy every minute of it. I’m in charge of the menu and I’ve picked out two sinful new recipes to try: French Toast Casserole and Caramel Apple Coffee Cake. If they turn out well you just might see them in an upcoming Munchies Monday post.

All righty, folks, that’s it! Go see Jen for more quick takes.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. entropy permalink
    November 9, 2012 09:31

    Congratulations on having a girl! We have 5 girls and only 1 boy. Girls are so fun; our house is practically made of glitter and fluff.

    You and I are of the same mind on number 5. Get. Rid. Of. It. When I try to store stuff for a yard sale so I can make a million dollars (yes, I actually thought that too!) my kids inevitably climb on the bags stuffed behind the couch (because the garage is an abyss we don’t talk about) and make a hole, then pick at the hole, then stuff starts to dribble out and suddenly I just don’t care anymore because didn’t I just organize and sort all that? Whatever.

  2. November 9, 2012 06:35

    Aw, congratulations on your baby girl. No judgment for blubbering a little. We’ve all been there. And I am right there with you on the garage sale thing. We used to think, well . . . maybe we could sell some of this stuff and blah blah blah. Yeah. Now it goes straight to the donation center. In our area, you can even go online and say, hello, mr. donation center, please stop by my house on this date and pick up the crap I’ve left in the driveway. thanks. Pretty awesome system. Stopping by from Jen’s blog. Have a great weekend.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 541 other followers

